observations of mucus-brain

12 11 2011

So the last 2 days have been lived through the hazy fog of congested sinuses, which has definitely impacted on my brain power. 

I don’t have much energy for too long a blog but did want to share a few things:

#  Why on earth is the cap on a lucozade bottle so tight?  I need to drink the contents precisely because I DON”T have strength…

#  Drums and bass beats sound particularly loud when conducted through slime in the head (big parties at hotel this weekend, girls next door performing on rain tank… loud!)

# It is amazing how quickly the senses can transport one back to childhood!

Paints for personal art are really not easy to find in Mbale:  I have brought in supplies from SA, or bought a few in Kampala.  But I want to paint with the girls next door and came across a recipe online to make finger paint: (In a small pot mix together 1/4 cup cornflour with 2 cups water.  Add food colouring for desired colour.  Boil until mixture thickens, then allow to cool. Store in a lidded container). 

As soon as the mixture began thickening in the pot I was back in the narrow alley ways between classes at preschool… the smell brought back childhood immediately!  I realised that age-old recipes work, and that entertaining children throughout the ages need not cost a fortune!

The mix is a bit gelatinous, but will work great for finger paint, and of course I had to try it out with my brushes.  It has a lovely waterpaint kind of effect. 

I was not able to go round and paint with the girls myself, but took the paint over and I hope they had a good time.

Whenever one has symptoms here that include a painful head, sore joints or fever the thoughts must run to malaria.  I did do a malaria home test, which came out negative – and just so you can see what home medical procedures look like:

(Sorry for the gory bits.  I just wanted to give a full idea of life here.  Hee hee.  Later I will blame it all on mucus-haze…)

But this is what I am living on here for now.  The banner of God’s grace never leaves us!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 11 2011
Starstryder

Love that there is a recipe for everything on the web 🙂 Hope you feel better soon though, a cold in this weather is truly awful.

12 11 2011
karenanddeon

The crazy thing is that it is FAR cooler in Uganda than in Joburg at the mo! It is cool, rainy with short bits of sun – hence flu-catching with ease. No 33-37C here!

13 11 2011
kristieinbc

The finger paint colours are so bright! I am sure the girls will love painting with it. I am guessing it will be a brand new experience for most, if not all of them.

It must be awful living with the constant worry of malaria infection. I think the scientific community is getting quite close to having the answers they need to be able to produce a vaccination. Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

