Murky meanings and sharing in love

29 10 2011

After yesterday’s rather negative blog I am trying to choose joy and seek God’s hand in all things.  It is GREAT and easy when things are sunny and positive but rather more challenging when real life is happening! 

We have not had any of the direct negatives of yesterday, and Deon feels like there is a little headway at work.  I was trying to catch up with recording expenses of the last few weeks or so, and was totally stumped by a few receipts.  Want to help?

helppsepurchasenames

Because power is so unreliable receipts are written by hand in town.  We do most often get receipts from printed books, but sometimes the little shack-shops only have paper from a notebook.

I was on the shopping trip for the first receipt and had a few clues.  I struggled to figure out ‘supands’, and filled in what I was told – that is ‘sauce pans’.  The chacoal stock is the sigiri: a little clay charcoal  STOVE.  Can you figure out ‘jeregans”? It was a ‘jarry’ can at the petrol station. yes, a ‘jerry can’. A wooden spoon is called a ‘mingling stick’, the last item on the list, if you were wondering.

The second receipt left me totally baffled.  After the date I could figure is a name of a person.  Then there is one piece of… um… uh… I recorded it as ‘a sheet of something’ (But it might also be a shirt?). 

The baffling African ‘I’ sound follows many words.  It is often spoken where no sound is written, and in Zambia I taught children who spoke their names as ‘Gifty’, “Faithy”, etc.  Here I have seen written signs with the effect of ‘jealous make you nast’ – one automatically says the “I” sound, surely?  So to write it is is simply writing phonetically.

I spent a while with the girls from the orphan home next door this afternoon.  I tried to blow bubbles, as I bought a bottle of bubble stuff in Kampala the other day specially for the girls.  Ugh.  There were far more spatters of unblown soapy water on my hands than bubbles in the air.  The few bubbles delighted the girls, which was lovely to see. I am scouring the web for home made bubble solutions to  be a bit more captivating the next time.

We did spend a bit of time colouring in. (Again, the pencil crayons here are really not good quality – all we can do is the best we can with what we have.) – I really don’t like to ask, but if you feel like you want to bring a smile to faces, could you send a few colouring books, crayons and maybe a good bubble solution to the address on this page?  These are orphan girls and appreciate so much.  I DID make every effort to look for better quality stuff in Kampala but then it is flipping expensive!  (There are 15 girls, between the ages of 4 and 13. Simplicity is very effective for them.)

But we DID colour, and I think it was enjoyed. 

I got a bit of a fright as I was thinking to leave.  One of the girls had been standing for a while then made a strange sound, fell to her knees and started quivering.  I recognised an epileptic fit, but the other girls called it ‘collapsing sickness’, which this girl has had since the age of 4.  They rubbed the top of her head a bit, let her sit, and carried on colouring in.  I asked one of the caregivers if this girl has medication. She has not seen a doctor, has no medication and has about 3 incidents a week. If others have some experience please give me some ideas of where to go from here.  It feels awful to leave the situation as is.

I know God loves each of these girls dearly, just as He loves each of us. And I ask that people do not stop praying for Africa, with all its layers of character.  My heart longs to see people free from all that holds them captive to seek the face of a loving and living God and to live joyfully before Him.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 10 2011
Michelle

I make bubbles with 2tbl glycerin, 4tbl sunlight and 1 cup water – it comes out a little greenish, but the boys don’t mind the difference!
Hope you have brighter days ahead!

31 10 2011
karenanddeon

Thank you Michelle. Bought glycerine today. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

