friday’s rousings

21 10 2011

I have been meditating on the words for a while now:

 

Awake my soul

Chris Tomlin has reworked these words:

For You and You alone
Awake my soul, awake my soul and sing
For the world You love
Your will be done, let Your will be done in me

And while these words resonate with me, my heart still stirs with the ancient hymn’s melody.

Crown Him with many crowns,
The Lamb upon His throne:
Hark! how the heav’nly anthem drowns
All music but its own!
Awake my soul, and sing
Of Him who died for thee,
And hail Him as thy matchless King
Thru all eternity.

 

And as my heart grieves for a friend who lost her son far too young, and I know of an old Swedish missionary who has gone to be with Jesus this week, and the reality of life’s brevity seeks to overpower my thoughts, I am reminded:

Crown Him the Lord of life:
Who triumphed o’er the grave…

Who died and rose on high,
Who died eternal life to bring
And live that death may die.

And although it sometime requires great courage ,my soul must sing:

 

To Thee be endless praise,
For Thou for us hast died;
Be Thou, O Lord, thru endless days
Adored and magnified.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment