look for it…

12 10 2011

A phrase came to me last week that has kept me thinking.  Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts, has challenged me to seek God’s gifts and name them. 

This is not a new philosophy:  think of the old chorus…

But there is a new movement among people, to CHOOSE JOY, and keep one’s eyes open for the ways that God is moving.  I am amazed that God always reminds us that this world cannot be tackled in our own power:  things should never be so cushy and pleasant that we want to stay where we are forever.  There are regular reminders in my life that this life is not the end: ETERNITY is what we should be pressing for, and what is worth living for.  But while we are here, there is so much to take pleasure in. 

A big struggle, but also a point of ministry to others for the last 10 to 15 years, has been dealing with chronic depression in my life.  A lot of the time it is controlled: I take medication, and try to avoid things that will set off an episode.  A big help is to keep positive people and sources feeding my soul; and Ann’s book and website (here) is one way of doing that. 

The phrase “LOOK FOR THE DELIGHT IN IT” came to my heart a few days ago.   Being an English teacher, I wanted to see what ‘delight’ really means:

noun

1.

a high degree of pleasure or enjoyment; joy; rapture

2.

something that gives great pleasure:

 

When I looked for verses for delighting in God in a concordance I was overwhelmed.

The first list of verses that stared out at me had a same thread:

“HE delights in me”.

“HE took me to a safe place because HE delights in me.”

Look up verses like Deut 30:10; 2 Sam 22:20; 1 Kings 10:9, Psalm 18:19; Psalm 35:27; Psalm 37:23; Psalm 147:11; Psalm 149:4; Micah 7:18. 

HE DELIGHTS IN ME. 

I do not need to look very hard.  It is evident throughout His word.  It is evident in His daily goodness to me.  He has a high degree of enjoyment in who He has made me to be.  Just because of His creative hand at work in my life.

 

And my response can only be:

"You’ll take delight in God, the Mighty One,
and look to him joyfully, boldly. (Job 22:26)

look for the delight in it

(The original does look a little better; I cannot get the scanner to do a better job.)

 

I endeavour that even when things are rough, or when it is not immediately evident, that I will seek God’s working and His deep joy that wants to make itself known in the situation.  And I will always remember – He delights in me!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

