snailmail celebrations

6 10 2011

 

 

journalart-shoes

The above journal art was inspired by the arrival of that which I though was lost, stolen and gone forever.

In the last week before leaving for Uganda  I bought a replacement pair of Rockies sandals – wonderful AFRICA shoes – sturdy, tough (my last pair handles 2 years of regular wear and tear) – they are the 4×4 of foot wear!  Alas within 2 weeks of being in Uganda my new pair started to be scriptural… “come ye apart…’ .  The soles had relationship issues with the uppers and they just would not work.  I contacted the Rockies office in SA and they said they were sending a new pair for me.  Such service!  Such help!  Whoohoo!

 

But… no shoes arrived.  This was one of a few packages  that I eventually wrote off as a donation to Africa.  I was certain that somebody had found the idea of owning a pair of Rockies as appealing as I did… and I bought a good pair of Weibrenners at Bata.

 

Our Ugandan survival philosophy is In every situation there will be at least one thing that simply makes no sense.    The shoes proved that true again!  On Tuesday, the slip arrived to collect a parcel… and it was the Rockies!

I followed the dates on the tags (green stars in the art above) – first sent from SA: 9 May 2011.  Next SA sticker: 17 May.  Arrival in Kenya:  26 May 2011. Date or receipt at Mbale post office:  28 September 2011.  I hope the dear sandals did not feel too claustrophobic stuck in a little box for so very long, stuck in who knows what departmental store house.  But I am sure I could just about hear the shoes jubilate when the box was opened:

FREE AT LAST, FREE AT LAST, THANK POSTA UGANDA… WE ARE IN AFRICA, BOUND TO DO WHAT WE WERE CREATED TO DO…. WHOOOHOOO…!

 

So.  Big ups to Rockies… we will continue our support of the brand.  Big ups to Posta Uganda on finding the parcel and sending it along.  And big ups to the snails who finally found and sent the shoes along.

 

Here is a link to Andrew’s blog yesterday, recalling his Ugandan visit.  http://nordicetch.blogspot.com/2011/10/hemingway-who-this-is-andrews-africa.html

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

