honoured and happy

24 08 2011

After a most refreshing rain storm this afternoon (read – it came belting down like mad – Afrikaans: Katte en honde en oumeide met knobkieries –It rained cats and dogs and old maids with walking sticks!) The waterfalls are chocolate-coloured (not choc flavoured!!) , the roads are like rivers and it affected class attendance today as the timing was exactly right for class time!  But the storms are still delightful and everything is fresh. 

Owl report: we saw dear Momma owl being mobbed by a million mossies (sparrows) this morning, and Dude-owl is sitting in a tree… he First knit goods, wood owl 113made it through the night and the storm!  YAY! 

Other little birds do not like the owls very much, but the flies LOVE buzzing around – there must be quite a carrion air to owls!  We follow the movements of the family eagerly and will give updates every now and again.

 

The Honour of the title is that I was nominated for a blog award!  This is a real joy for me – I write to keep the folks at home updated on happenings, and if others follow that is great.  So this is special, and I eagerly help other new bloggers / not-as-famous-as-google bloggers: I grin when I see readership increasing! 

This is the award:

liebster_blog[1]_thumb

Liebster means "friend" in German, so I TOO am very pleased to be included!

The award is intended to highlight less well known blogs who have something great to share. The rules for the Liebster Blog Award are:
1. Accept the award and thank the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Pass it to 3-5 blogs with less than 200 followers and tell them that they’ve received it.
3. Link back to the person who gave it to you.

– what a great way to share the love!  I like it a lot! 

Thank you, Katie, for your award.  I love the communication we have already shared, even though we have not met! 

Katie and I started chatting in NanoWrimo last year, when we hooked up on ravelry.com and have chatted a lot since then.  The positive approach and lovely pics on Katie’s blog are worth popping in to – and not all of us have been to Tasmania, so a Tasmanian experience is great fun to read!

 

My nominations are:

1.  My brother’s blog from Sweden, nordic etch.  I love the pictures and musings of an SA student coping with many new experiences.  And I just love my brother to bits.

2.  A blog from a missionary on an island in Lake Victoria, journey of faith.  I see a lot of myself in this girl and admire her persistence and she writes well.  And I am a bit jealous of her chance of living on an island!

3.  I drop by into this blog periodically and enjoy the pragmatic approach of the writer.  I t is from a world so different to mine, and I enjoy the views of another life.  journey north.

 

Many of the blogs I follow are rather popular and have huge followings.  I like the idea of helping people from all over the world get read.

 

Blessings for Thursday for you!

Actions

Information

One response

24 08 2011
Kathy

Thanks! It’s strange to think it’s been less than a year since we first started talking to each other – it feels like much longer!

I have now added a couple more blogs to my google reader =)

Leave a Reply

