creativity catch up

30 07 2011

Here are a few pics of what I have been doing with my hands in the last while.  Firstly, some recycling:

I have lots of little bits of paper that I cut off from notes for classes.  I cannot bear to throw them away.  I cannot bring myself to toss cardboard boxes either. I saw the idea in a ravelry group, and here are my own matchbook notebooks: 

creativity catchup 025creativity catchup 026

So if you want one, send a letter and a notebook could be on the way!  (ok, I know my brothers will now NEVER write!)

Then trying out things for the knitting classes.  This is with plarn – plastic bags made into yarn.  (we have no-to-little yarn (wool) here but plastic bags in ABUNDANCE lying around.  The aim is to use these to make things to sell.  But after this tryout I think we will make smaller items than shoulder bags! Work still in progress, though:

creativity catchup 045

I LOVE the patterns (self striping!) made by the yellow and black bags from aristoc, a great book store here.

Another knitted item, this baby blanket, made with local yarn (4 ply, 100% acrylic – I bragged about it in an earlier blog!)

creativity catchup 035creativity catchup 029

Then a task I have been busy with for about 6 weeks.  The oil takes so long to dry here, and we have been away for trips in between.  But it matches our curtains and speaks of the Africa we love:

creativity catchup 044creativity catchup 037

 

Ah!  it is so special to do things that you can see before the ideas. The gift of creativity MUST be used and cherished.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

